Benninghaus Award

VBK Kunstpreis / Benninghauspreis 2018

Am 26.Januar 2018 ging der diesjährige Kunstpreis des VBK an den Künstler Detlef Suske.

Die externe Fachjury im Jahr 2018 bildeten Frau Dr. Carola Muysers, Herr Martin Bayer
und Herr Dr. Martin Steffens.

Aus den zahlreich eingereichten Arbeiten von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern des Vereins Berliner Künstler aller Sparten der Bildenden Kunst, zeichnete die Juroren, in besonderer Würdigung die Fotografie "Birne aus Pomonas Kabinett", aus der Serie “Pomonas Kabinett“ 2017, des Künstlers Detlef Suske als Preisträgerwerk aus.

Weitere Informationen


The Benninghauspreis is the art prize of the VBK, being donated since 2001 by Barbara and Michael Benninghaus from Neuss (Düsseldorf). This prize is exclusively addressed to artists of the VBK. It contains a prize money of 3000 € and a solo presentation of the awardee in the VBK Gallery.


For the first time the prize has been awarded to Carla Fioravanti in 1992 under the name ARAG-Preis. It contained an exhibition in the association, as well as a catalog and the costs for the invitation. After a pause of reflection the prize was continued in 1994, namely up to and including 1997, for painting
and sculpture, thus to two persons.

For the following year it was decided to award the prize to a Berlin
artist and an artist from Düsseldorf for the reason of a better
integration of ARAG. For this purpose the VBK turned to the art association Malkasten in Düsseldorf.

Since 1998 the prize further contained an exhibition in the central
administration of ARAG and in a gallery in Düsseldorf. Due to a bearer bill in ARAG the prize was no longer continued. Since the
preparations for 2001 were already advanced, ARAG stepped in
for that year, however without any artist from Düsseldorf. So as to prevent the end of this work, Mister Benninghaus
and his wife took over the now modified prize.
After some experiments the prize was renamed Benninghauspreis.